CAHSEE Information


(Education Code §§48980(e), 60850, 60851(c), and 60852.3)

All California public school students are required by state law to satisfy the California High School Exit Examination (CAHSEE) requirement, as well as all other state and local requirements, in order to receive a high school diploma. The CAHSEE requirement can be satisfied by passing the exam or, for students with disabilities, receiving a local waiver or exemption pursuant to Education Code Section 60851.1(c) or 60852.3. All students, including English learners and students with disabilities, must take the CAHSEE for the first time in grade ten. Students who do not pass the exam in tenth grade will have additional opportunities in grades eleven and twelve to retake the part(s) not passed.

 What the CAHSEE Covers

The exam is divided into two parts: (1) English-language arts (reading and writing) and (2) mathematics. All questions are aligned to California content standards adopted by the State Board of Education. Content standards describe what students should know and be able to do at each grade level from kindergarten through grade twelve. Your school can provide you with information on the content standards assessed by the CAHSEE, or you can download the CAHSEE test blueprints located on the Internet at

 Requirements for Passing the CAHSEE

Students must earn a score of 350 or higher on each part of the CAHSEE (English-language arts and mathematics) to pass the exam. Students do not need to pass both parts of the exam during the same administration in order to satisfy the CAHSEE requirement.

CAHSEE Program Resources and links to study guides: